Birthday Interview : Judy Henry

1

February 26, 2014 by sbpcobb

judy03

We’re excited to get started with our first employee birthday interview! Our employees are hard-working folks, so let’s get to know them a little better through this series in 2014!

Happy birthday to Judy Henry!

Judy has been with us for a long time at Parks Chevrolet Buick GMC, and we appreciate her extensive knowledge and work!

1. What does a normal day look like for you at the dealership?

Some things are constant–emails to read, print up and answer, deposits to make, invoices to post, paperwork to sort and Fed Ex, telephones to answer and most of all–take care of our customers. But then every day is different. Month ends are very busy when you never seem to accomplish what you set out to do on any given day.

2. What’s your favorite thing about working at Parks?

I have been there long enough that everyone seems like family!

3. Favorite GM car.

Right now my love is the Buick Enclave–love the self crank, heated seats, automatic rear door opener and closer–how well I can see when driving and how safe I feel when my granddaughter is riding with me.

4. What do you do when you’re not working?

Read a good book. Spend time with grandchildren. Travel–especially to countries with ancient civilizations. Sew or work on crafts. Garden–love to plant something and watch it grow. Spend time at the cabin and on the water at Pickwick. Spend time with friends.

5. Favorite place in the world.

Many places are my favorite–the city of Paris from the top of the Eiffel Tower; Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate; view of Valley of Kings, Valley of the Queens and the Nile from a balloon ride at sunrise; the painting of the Coronation of Napoleon in the Musee deLouvre; Notre Dame Cathedral, Abu Simbel Temples; Karnak in Thebes; Pyramids of Giza; Hill of Tara and Newgrange; Giants Causeway; Peterhof Palace’s fountains; and the the view to the Gulf of Finland; Castle Howard in England; and Robin Hood’s Bay; Fountains Abbey; Versailles; Ronda, Spain, the Alhambra…I could go on and on.

judy02

The place that I have been that I want to return to is Peru. I want to be able to spend more time at Machu Picchu–Ollyentambo–Cusco–Saksaywaman–maybe raft the Urubama again–and then there are the places I haven’t been: China, Tibet, India, Turkey, Israel. I could go on and on there, too!!!

6. Do you have a life motto that you try to remember to live by?

Being the best you can be and trying your hardest was taught to me at an early age.

Be still and know that I am God. Psalm 46:10

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

7. Three words to describe yourself.

Kind, Neat, and Shy.

8. Tell us about your family. 

I have been married to Rickey for 42 years–it feels like only a few years–really do not know where the years have gone.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

We have one son, Paul, and his wife, Emily, and two granddaughters: Brooklyn, who is 5 and Mia, who is 6 months old. Paul and Emily both have jobs in education. Paul is the principal at Pontotoc High School and Emily teaches Algebra at New Site. Brooklyn and Mia are the highlights of our lives–we really enjoy our grandchildren. Don’t know what we did before them.

9. Describe the perfect birthday meal with dessert choice, of course!

Well, since I am trying to diet, this is going to be hard.

Spring mix salad with balsamic dressing
Lasagna with roasted aparagus
Focaccia bread
Sweet tea and water to drink
Bananas Foster cheesecake topped with rum dressing

Of course would need to have flowers and candlelight and maybe a little soft music, too!

 

……………………………………………………………….

Thanks, Judy! We hope today is splendid!

 

 

 

Parks Chevrolet Buick GMC, formally known as Parks Chevrolet, is located in New Albany, MS and is a family-owned store that has been serving Northeast Mississippi since 1919.

One thought on “Birthday Interview : Judy Henry

  1. Judy Wingo says:

    Well, my friend, as usual my brain is not working and I forgot. I loved reading the interview. You have truly led the kind of life we all should aspire to. It has been my privilege to have shared the last 35 years with you and Rickey. God bless and Happy Birthday!! Love always, Judy W.

Leave a comment